Never Stop Exploring.

One thing I’ve been doing a lot of lately is exploring. I think everyone will know what I mean when I say this, but at the moment it seems that we’re all getting sick of being online & on our computers all the time, correcto?

Another reason I bailed from the 9-5. To get more outside time. No matter how much work I have on, or what I’m doing, I ALWAYS find time to get outside and do a little exploring. This is what keeps me going. I’ve mentioned it here and there in a couple of posts, but I go a little more in depth here.

I’m finding that my outside/exploring time gets me more motivated when I do get back to the computer, or when I have work to do. The more time I spend out and about, the more I get really into my work.

Any of you that do this will know what I’m talking about when I say this time actually helps me become more creative. It refreshes your mind. It leaves all those ‘inspirational’ images & words you saw throughout the last week/month/whatever behind, where they belong, on your computer.

Now it’s your turn to get out and see these things with your own eyes, in real life. 

Instead of having a whole month or two where you’re burning yourself out, weekdays & weekends, try and balance it out! For me at the moment, I have one whole day a week where I don’t do any work, and I’ll go for a road trip, or jump on a train or the ferry or something.

People say ‘Oh man I wish I could do that, but I’m so busy, I don’t have time, I have SO much to do.’ I call bullshit on that. Find the time.

Stop running around like a crazy person and take time to actually LIVE your life.

Extend your deadlines.

Stop being so easily contactable 24/7.

Rather than having one big weekend off every few months, try and balance it out and schedule some ultimate chill out time every week. And I mean serious chill out. No computer, no phone, just exploring time.

The last two Saturdays have been my exploring days… And the weather has held out amazingly for both, which made it all the more awesome. I’ve also acquired a love for my backpack, and trains. (Say wah? Yeah, I never thought I’d say that either.) But somehow throwing a couple of cameras in a backpack and jumping on a train to who knows where, is freakin exciting stuff. On Saturday I went to the Blue Mountains, which is about 2 hours west of Sydney. (And surprisingly it was only about $11 return.) The whole ‘wandering around with a backpack on, with a camera in hand, living it up’ thing is amazing. It’s inspiring. It’s living.

This has probably actually become my fave thing to do. I imagine it’s not going to go away either.

So what I’m trying to say is, get outside to find your inspiration, and don’t compromise your exploring/chill out time for anything. We get so chained to our computers & our ‘online lives’ sometimes, that we forget there’s a world out there to be explored. Even if it is just your own backyard.

*And if you need even more motivation to get outside & away from the crazyness, watch this movie. I’ve watched it about 5 times in the last week… And it’s partly what fueled me to get outside even more. Hopefully it changes the way you think about things, as it did with me.

*pps I’ve fixed up a few buttons & pages on ze blog. Gotta keep it fresh.

2 Responses to “Never Stop Exploring.”


  1. 1 Christine Amorose (@camorose) April 2, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Love this! I’m having a hard time getting back into this groove now that I’m home which is a shame–I explore so much everywhere else, but then get sucked into all sorts of commitments when I’m home. need to throw my cameras in a backpack and hop a train soon! (Luckily, I do have plans to have one whole day to myself in SF this week–just me and my camera, yay!)

  2. 2 Jessie April 2, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Amen to that! P.S You may enjoy this beautiful colab http://projectyose.com/


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

