Reasons Why New Zealand Is Choice.

After living in Sydney for over a year now, and coming back to New Zealand, I think I appreciate it now more than I did when I was living here. You always hear everyone go on about the green-ness of it, and how chilled out we are, but you only really get it when you go away and come back. Here’s reasons why I think the Land of the Long White Cloud is tops.

  1. There a beaches everywhere, and they’re all a stone throw away. This is one of the best things about this country… And there are sooo many secluded beaches that you have to hike to/know where they are to get there. (Hint if you’re visiting – Find Hahei.)
  2. We are chilled as hell. I now understand this. Australians are chill, but not as much as us I don’t think. That’s half the reason I love coming back so much now… Because I know I can properly chill out. Maybe it’s just different people’s personalities, but damn, we kiwi’s know how to chill it.
  3. Our accent is awesome. I never used to think we had an accent, but then no matter where you are in the world everyone probably thought this at one stage. But seriously, I’m pretty sure the NZ accent got voted hottest accent in the world once? I can so see why. When you’re overseas and you hear a kiwi accent, it stands out from the crowd fo sho. Swoon.
  4. We have the Rugby World Cup. Don’t get me wrong, I kind of hate rugby. Not the sport itself, just the way they never shut up about it, here and in Australia. They focus on it way too much, and forget about heaps of other sport’s we have amazing athletes in. BUT… Coming back from Aussie for a few days, in the midst of the World Cup, is kind of cool. Mostly cause I get to leave next week and don’t have to stick out the whole thing, but I just love the whole ‘kiwi-ness’ of it, All Blacks flags everywhere, painted sheep statues on the side of the road, you get the idea.

There are a MILLION more reasons why NZ is mint, but this is all I’ve got for now.

3 Responses to “Reasons Why New Zealand Is Choice.”


  1. 1 Danelle BourgeoisDanelle September 12, 2011 at 11:51 am

    I looooooove Hahei! One of my favourite NZ beach spots – Cathedral Cove!

  2. 2 Claire September 27, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I love this list. And yep, Hahei is amazing. Hell, all of NZ is pretty amazing x


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

