5 Things To Note If You’re Moving To Sydney.

I’m hoping to post a few more helpful hints like these, I love reading about random little things about other countries that you might not otherwise know! So this is the first installment of my guide to living in Sydney. 5 tips/things that may/may not help you out. These probably apply to the whole of Australia too, not just Sydney. (Given I’ve only lived in Sydney, so gimme a holla if these are different anywhere else!) The last one isn’t something to note, more something you should just do… ENJOY!

I’m not sure about other countries, but in NZ they sell beer & wine in the supermarkets. The first time I found this out I think the checkout chick thought I was some kind of alcoholic when I asked her where the wine was, but then I just pulled the ‘Oh I just moved here from NZ’ card. Works every time.

Yep. You better believe it. Even NZ has more than Sydney. I love Starbucks as much as the next person, but there are hardly any in Sydney! And a good 80% of them are in the city. Of course there’s the Starbucks equivalent, Gloria Jeans, but come on, its no Starbucks.

Ooohhh yes. Not many people seem to know about the ferry that goes up the Parramatta River, but it’s pretty cool beans. It’s my fail safe hassle free way to get to the city. It’s about $6 each way, and takes just over an hour from Olympic Park. If you feel like getting your inner adventurer on you can even stop off at Cockatoo Island and have a look around! In summer they even have a bar on the Island…

(Apologies for the photo that has absolutely nothing to do with Maccas whatsoever.) I stand to be corrected on this, so hit me up if I’m wrong, but so far Maccas is the only place I’ve worked out that you’re guaranteed free wifi every time. And you don’t even have to buy anything to get it! Of course there are cafe’s etc that have free wifi, but you’re guaranteed it at Maccas.

If you know me, you know that I’m obsessed just a little (read: a lot) with Palm Beach. YES this is where they film Home and Away, and that’s kinda how I found it, but seriously, it’s my most faveeeee beach in Sydney. Most people can’t be bothered driving all the way up there so half the time you’re gonna have most of the beach to yourself. But do yourself a favor, and get there ASAP. It will enhance your Sydney life x 1million.

4 Responses to “5 Things To Note If You’re Moving To Sydney.”


  1. 1 Martin Diesendorf September 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Gosh even New Zealand has better public services than us. Such an embarrassment. :/

  2. 3 Kelly September 26, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Having never lived in Australia or New Zealand this definitely makes me want to come check it out! There are so many things to do in Sydney I don’t think I’d mind not having a Starbucks on every corner. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  3. 4 Evielyn Chapman October 8, 2011 at 2:23 am

    Loved this post! Being a sydneysider my whole life I can’t imagine living anywhere else… But the Starbucks issue is a real problem! I love Gloria’s as much as anyone, but i miss my morning Starbucks.


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and Iā€™m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

