Do Your Thing.

A mid Life Reset update! So for the last week + a bit I’ve been all about ‘resetting’ my life I guess you could say. In two main ways. Body + Mind. This post is an update on the mind + soul side of it!

A while ago I stumbled across Gala Darling, (do yourself a favor if you haven’t checked her out), and I got MASSIVELY inspired to take on this whole new way of looking at life. It’s all about finding the positives in every situation, living up every moment in every day, and devoting your life to love, adventure & deliciousness. To some of you that might not have heard about this I might sound a bit kooky, but honestly, I never thought about this kind of stuff before, but now I live and breathe it. And I can say I’m a lot better off for it! Here’s a few tips that I’ve picked up… Give them a shot and see what happens!

– Write things down!! I barely used to write notes & random thoughts down, I’d just keep them all in my head, unless it was like a grocery list or something. (haha) But honestly, since I’ve started writing down random thoughts + ideas, goals, etc, whatever I write down actually seems to begin to make itself happen. I actually can’t believe how much cool stuff has come my way lately. It’s all about manifesting things you want in your life… Which I learnt from Gala! If you believe in something enough, and put in the hard work, things will start coming your way.

– Have Dreams! You have to have goals + dreams to be able to live your life to the full I think. When you have a dream about doing what you really LOVE in life, you can make it happen. You just have to believe you’ll get there one day, and you have to be prepared to put in the hard yards. ANYTHING is possible when you put your mind to it. See first note: Write em down! Every last one. (Pic below by Julian says it better than I could.)

– Do What You Love. Seriously, I’ve always thought this, but now even more so. You HAVE to do what you love… Whatever it takes. Just do it! There are no excuses. When you do what you love you will truly come alive.

– Have Adventures. You don’t have to travel the globe to have an adventure, you don’t even have to leave your city/town. You just have to look at things differently. Take a camera, take a notebook, document it! And post it online for other people to see. Focus on a particular scene/object/shape. See beauty in the small things. (eg. Trees, roads, car wheels, go in search of anything square shaped!) Make a series out of it! This is fun… I’ve done it before.

– Like attracts Like. I picked this baby up off Gala! But it is oh so true. If you do things, good will come to you. You just have to believe it’s never as bad as you think, no matter what the situation. I’ve managed to become pretty good at this lately, just chill! Be optimistic, do good things, and good will come.

– Play this song when you wake up. Because, errrrrrrr, Foster the People are the shiz! Guaranteed to kick off your day with a bang.

So that’s Life Reset Update #2! As you can tell it’s not all about eating right + exercising. A good 50% (if not more) of it is all in your mind baby! A lot of my life over the last few months has been doing more of what I love, designing what I want to design, working with/getting to know amazing people, taking more photos, + heaps more! And it’s been going SUPER awesome for me so far. So whatever your thing is, GO DO IT!

5 Responses to “Do Your Thing.”


  1. 1 Danelle September 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Very cool that you’re doing the life reset! I didn’t know anything about it till I was a week into my elimination diet which is very much a big part of the life reset so I may as well join in haha. It’s day 15 for me now and I’m actually STARVING. Haha.

    • 2 SianRicho September 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

      The Life Reset is SUCH a sweet idea huh!
      I was reading your post about it this morning! That’s some crazy stuff… Hope you suss out what’s going on!

      • 3 Danelle September 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm

        Yeah, I’m probably doing a more hard out version cause I see lots of others are eating fish and other meats, and they’re allowing citrus too. It’s pretty boring. Must find some good recipes!

  2. 4 Kimberley - Dream. Delight. Inspire. September 29, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Fantastic post Sian! I love Gala’s positive attitude and go get it mentality, so I’m really glad you’ve stumbled upon her and taken some of her writing on board (she’s a Kiwi too)!
    Hope you’re feeling incredible after a week and half of Life Reset – go grab those dreams! xx


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

