Reasons You Should Live Overseas: Part One.

Some of you might have done it, some might have just thought about it…

But as you may have seen, I moved from NZ to the Land of Oz in March last year, and I’m here to convince you to do the same. Maybe the land of the kangaroo’s and koala’s doesn’t float your boat, but I’m sure there’s somewhere else you’ve always dreamed of, or at least thought about living, yes? Well, it’s time to get those plans in motion! Traveling overseas is one thing, but actually living somewhere else is next level.

I’ve broken this up into different parts, as it would be massive to have it in one post, and more importantly, I’m learning things all the time! Here’s a few things I’ve since discovered so far from jumping that oh so famous ditch…

01 / You learn to depend on yourself. I’ve always been pretty independent, but since I’ve lived in Sydney, I am even more so! And you really need to know how to do things on your own… You don’t realise how much you rely on other people until you have to do everything yourself. And I mean everything! Especially when you move somewhere where you literally might only know one or two people to start with, you can only rely on yourself to get things done. It ain’t easy at the start, but once you get used to it, its pretty rad to know you can do so many things on your lonesome. A few friends/people I’ve talked to think they need to have a friend/boyfriend to move somewhere, to make it easier, but this could not be further from the truth! Sure, I’ve thought how good it would be to have someone with me that’s in the same boat, but then again, I think I’ve learnt a lot more just being able to do my own thing, and learn from my own experiences. You don’t need anyone to do anything with, it’s your life, is it not?!

02 / It opens your eyes. I can’t even begin to describe how much my life has changed, and how differently I look at things now. It might not seem like that big of a deal to some, but throwing yourself into another world/culture is one way of opening your eyes to things you never thought about before. Aussie and NZ aren’t all that different culture wise, but somehow it seems like just moving a few hours away has made me take a step back & see things in a whole new light. It took me a good year before I really started to get into the Sydney life, and living it the way it should be lived, but now that I am, whoa! It’s crazy/awesome/rad. The best thing being, THE BEST IS ALWAYS YET TO COME! Sure, I’m living it up more than I was at first, but there’s ALWAYS new places to do/things to see/people to meet.

03 / You can do anything you want & not care what anyone thinks. If you live in a massive city like Sydney, chances are you’re not going to see people you know all that often. Especially if you didn’t know anyone at all when you first moved like me! This has its good/bad points, but this is a good one. You can do whatever you want and not care if people look at you sideways. You might do this in your own town/country already, but I think you feel more freedom when you don’t know anyone else in such a big city.

04 / You love your own country more. You live somewhere your whole life, and after a while it all starts to look the same, and you get sick of it. This is pretty much what happened to me. But now that I don’t live in NZ anymore, I see what everyone talks about when they say how amazing/green/chilled out it is. I never saw it before because I didn’t know any different, so I guess this is going back to #2…. Love you New Zealand, you pearler you!

05  / You can start fresh. You can pretty much start all over again if you want. Be who you really want to be, be yourself. Meet people you want to be friends with, listen to tunes you want to listen to, go to gigs you want, literally let yourself come alive. So live it up and get amongst it!

These are purely my own opinions, if you have anything to add/comment about, hit me up in the comments below! I love hearing what other people have learnt from their own experiences. And I’ve only moved from NZ to Sydney so far, which may not seem that big of a jump, but it was for me, to start with anyway! There’s nothing stopping me/holding me down from moving again, and I love it. So don’t take my word for all these things, this is just to inspire you to have a look around and see where you might want to go, so start looking!

13 Responses to “Reasons You Should Live Overseas: Part One.”


  1. 1 Christine Amorose October 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Before moving to Melbourne, I lived in Nice, France (originally from California). Completely different places and experiences but I totally believe that living abroad is an experience that everyone should have at least once in their life!

  2. 3 Rachel Magahy October 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Awesome post lady, loved hearing your spin on moving and what you’ve learnt from the experience! xx

  3. 5 May Umi October 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Yes, awesome post! I sooo agree with you Sian! I moved a few times within germany; that was always a fresh start. I lived for a couple of month in the netherlands. Dutch and germans are not so different, but like you said: even this little step brings so much new 🙂

    • 6 SianRicho October 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      Thanks so much! Yeah totally… The smallest of jumps can be just as big sometimes huh. I plan to move on somewhere else one day too, who knows when or where but this is just the start! 🙂

  4. 7 Angela October 17, 2011 at 7:41 am

    I’m totally scared about doing this, however your post give me courage! Thank you!

    • 8 SianRicho October 17, 2011 at 11:15 am

      I know how freaky it is to start with… You just do what you have to do, and you realise how exciting/awesome it is! You should blog about it and let me know where you go and how you get on! 😉

  5. 9 Krissy October 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

    So much YES to all of this. Admittedly, I wasn’t living abroad very long (only 3 months, so I’m not sure it 100% counted… it was more like an extra long vacation), but it was the most awesome thing I ever did. Was absolutely terrified, that’s for sure, but it changed me in so many ways and in so little time. I know if I were offered a full-time position abroad, I could do it now. (And I’d want to!)

  6. 11 shelleb October 23, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Absolutely agree 100% with everything you’ve written here! I’m originally from Sydney but in the past 5 years I’ve lived across Canada (Lake Louise, Calgary, Yukon Territory, New Brunswick, Edmonton, Quebec) and now am trekking across Europe and have lived for a while in France and now in Germany! You are absolutely right with everything you’ve written here and I’ve often thought of these points, lovely to see it expressed so nicely! EVERYONE should try out a seachange at some point!

    • 12 SianRicho October 23, 2011 at 7:24 pm

      Wow that’s awesome!! I love hearing stories from other people about where they’ve gone. It makes me want to move on further! haha.
      Thanks so much! Yeap, I think it’s just one of those things you have to do to realise how much it can change you/your outlook on life. It’s awesome. Opens your eyes x a million!

  7. 13 Corrine/Frock & Roll October 23, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    AWESOME! Congratulations on taking the leap and welcome to Sydney, Sian! 🙂 I hope you’re having a wonderful time!


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

