Quit your day job + make stuff?

I don’t not know how much longer I can do this 9-5 business. I wasn’t made to sit in an office all day. I want freedom.

This is not a decision I take lightly though. Reading all these blogs & inspirational words is all well and good, but I think it’s easy to forget that there is a process to everything, and nothing just ‘magically’ happens. You have to be prepared to put in the hard yards to get to where you want, and then you are rewarded. After all, isn’t it so much better when you know how hard you’ve worked for something?

If you don’t love what you do, something has to change. My passion is still with design & being creative… But not being chained to a desk 9-5. I can’t do it.

Freelance + working for myself is my dream! And creating cool things + inspiring other people along the way. Time to start making it a reality. Might not be easy, but hell, bring it on.

*UPDATE: In aid of this process I’ve just purchased ‘Turning Your Dream Job Into A Reality‘, an e-book by the awesome Kim of Dream. Delight. Inspire. Will keep you posted on how it goes, can’t wait to read it!

(Image Credit: rawartletterpress on etsy)

9 Responses to “Quit your day job + make stuff?”


  1. 1 Christine Amorose October 21, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Two weeks until my last day of my 9-5 and I start freelancing full-time! Half terrifying, half so exciting…either way, it will be awesome to not work all day and then come home and work on the stuff I love all night! You can do it!

  2. 2 Amy Potter October 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I can’t believe how much I was nodding while reading this post! I could not agree more. At this point, I dream of even just being able to freelance and work part time. Being chained to a desk for 9 or 10 hours just doesn’t gel with being ‘creative’!

    I’d love to hear what you think of the e-book when you’re done reading.

  3. 3 SianRicho October 21, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Yeppo! You ladies get me! And yep Amy… Even working part time + freelance would do me. I could even handle a totally non-creative job on the side to change it up a bit.
    I’ve always worked best at home, or at a cafe, etc, where you’ve got more freedom… I think you feel more inspired when you’re not confined to the same space all the time.

    Will post more about it along the way 😉

  4. 4 Danelle October 21, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I’m with you on this! I’ve been wanting to switch to full time freelancing for quite a while now and am in the process of putting some things in place in the hopes to be able to do this within the next year. It is scary to not know where your next pay is coming from though. I will definitely miss my current salary, a lot!

  5. 5 Angela October 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

    I totally agree with you with everything, and “Freelance + working for myself is my dream”!
    To chase your dreams you’ll have to work hard, but in the end you’ll say “it was worth it”, that’s one of the things I learned from life.
    Your posts give me strength to do the same!
    I don’t have much time to comment here but I keep reading you. Happy weekend 🙂

  6. 6 Sweet Lime and Spiced Tea October 22, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I’m always surprised when I read posts like this – it makes me realise there are so many people out there who feel the same way I do! My issue is more about confidence – am I good enough to make it as a freelancer totally on my own?? But I guess you never know until you try. How are you going with the e-book? I’m trying to be totally honest with myself answering all the ‘Just Do It’ questions…
    Can’t wait to see what you decide! xx

  7. 7 SianRicho October 22, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Thanks so much ladies!!
    Danelle: Yeppo, I’m the same, especially the whole ‘knowing you’re gonna get paid on Thursday every week’ thing haha. It’s all part of it I guess.

    Angela: I think it def pays off a lot more when you know you’ve worked for it. I haven’t really worked super hard for something before, so this will be a big deal for me! Excited/scared though. Will be a while before I can fully quit my job I think.
    Thanks so much for your support!

    Sweet Lime Ladies: I know what you mean! I’ve seen one or two posts about it lately. It’s surprising to see how many people feel the same way. Yep! I think you just have to make the decision and do it… I was thinking about it for so long, but now I’ve said to myself I will do it, so now it’s my mission to make it happen! Same here on the e-book… I’m loving it! So helpful. Will keep you updated 😉 xx

  8. 8 Kimberley - Dream. Delight. Inspire. October 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I am so thrilled for you Sian! It is a very frightening but exciting journey.

    Thank you for snapping up a copy of the eBook and I hope it helps you with the transition and getting all your thoughts and ideas on paper. If you have any suggestions or questions, please just send them through! 🙂

    I’m always amazed at how many people are just chomping at the bit to test the freelance/self-employment waters but are all talk and no action. I understand how scary it is money-wise, but I think the more terrifying thing is the possibility of being trapped in a job you dislike and the passion fading from your life.

    Best of luck and I can’t wait to follow the whole thing through your blog! xx

  9. 9 SianRicho October 23, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    Thanks so much Kim!!

    Defiantly will do, I’m loving it so far. So helpful, so many things I hadn’t given much thought (yet anyway 😉 ).

    Yep I know what you mean, I’ve totally come to the same realisation. I thought about it the other day, why sit at a desk slaving away for someone else the rest of my life when I can work for myself & do what I want? The last thing I want is to work a 9-5er forever, and have it slowing destroy my passion. No way.

    Thanks again! xx


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

