Outpost Opening Party!

Extra snaps from the opening of Outpost Project on Cockatoo Island lastnight! (Check out the original post for 52 Weeks of Australia here.) Wowsa. I won  tickets to the opening which was lastnight, which was hella impressive! I was hooked from the minute we were directed into a old tunnel lined with canvases… Cockatoo Island is the PERFECT place for this festival, the industrial & gritty nature of it could not fit the scene better. I have since discovered that Outpost is the largest street art festival in the Southern Hemisphere?! Slightly impressive. And the dudes organising it have totally nailed it, and I am still yet to see the whole island as they only hard part of it open lastnight!

I’ve always wanted to go to Cockatoo Island, (I go past it on the ferry all the time), but I finally got there, and I don’t think there could have been a more awesome time for a first visit!

If you’re in Sydney over the next month or so, do yourself a favor and GET THERE! Check out the website here for all the deets. I promise you will not be dissapointed! If you go in the arvo on Fri/Sat/Sun they even have DJ’s/Entertainment/Bars… Need I say more?

*Cockatoo is an island up the Parramatta River in Sydney, which has been home to a prison & more notably a ship building & repair yard. Now the Sydney Harbor Federation Trust looks after it, and there’s heaps of sweet stuff on there… Including a rad Island bar that faces out onto the River/Sydney Harbor.

*That’s me + Vienda in the pic! (Who needs auto focus…?)

2 Responses to “Outpost Opening Party!”


  1. 1 Lucent Imagery November 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Oh this looks awesome! I love street art and it does look like the location was perfect.


  1. 1 outpost project on cockatoo island: sydney street art | vienda maria Trackback on November 7, 2011 at 8:25 am

Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and I’m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

