When to Call It // Social Media

The internet is a rather crazy place. Most of the time its amazing, and it can open your eyes to things you never knew existed. But I think you’ve got to know when to call it quits, and when to hold up on social media.

There are SO many apps and ways to share your life with the world, but sometimes I think it gets a bit too much. Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Foursquare, Instagram etc etc… And now another one, Path. I had a quick look at the Path website, and from what I can work out it seems like a mini journal that claims to combine all of these things, sharing your life with other people pretty much. Where you are, what you’re doing, who you’re with.

Do all of these things really need to be shared online I ask? And how is Path THAT different from everything else?

Yeah, it might combine all of the usual things you update on the separate apps/websites, and it claims to be more private than Facebook, etc, but we’ve seen it all before.

I think it’s becoming all to easy to live your life online 95% of the time, which is not exactly a good thing. I love Twitter & Instagram as much as the next person, but is there a point where it’s all just a bit too much?

I’m pretty much set with what I have now. I don’t think I NEED any more apps to share my life online. I have Facebook, for friends & family only, my blogs to share my work & what I get up to, Twitter to connect with anyone & everyone, and Instagram for quick snaps on the go. And for me personally, that’s enough.

What do you think? How many sites/apps are you signed up to? I’m interested to know what you guys think on this one!

Image from Nanamee.

21 Responses to “When to Call It // Social Media”


  1. 1 Jennifer December 7, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Agree. There comes a point when it’s too much. For the time being, I blog and have a Facebook account that I rarely use. I left Twitter … I didn’t care for the format, and I grew bored of all the self-promotion. I much prefer to read a completed thought, like your post, for example, and be able to comment accordingly rather than having to abide by a word count. I suppose it is a matter of preference.

  2. 2 Danelle December 7, 2011 at 10:39 am

    I feel the same way. It’s quite an overload. I’m pretty much set with what I have I think. Facebook (just friends/family), Twitter (I actually have two accounts – one for my ‘real life’ friends and one for my blogging world – thus preventing work people from seeing any ranting haha) and Instagram (which I use as more of an image host for Twitter than an actual social networking thing just because I like the effects and dislike TwitPic etc).

  3. 3 vienda maria December 7, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I’m totally with you there Sian! Sometimes I wish it could even just be twitter and the blog…however Facebook makes connecting with loved ones so much easier alas it is here to stay!

  4. 5 Rach // In Spaces Between December 7, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    We are inside each other’s brains! Seriously. I’ve been talking about this to my man for a few weeks… and you know what, with all this crazy Mercury Retrograde madness happening at the moment (being felt more by Saggo’s as it’s in our sign) I’ve read that one of the big things is feeling overwhelmed and wanting to pull back from things like social media. Wanting to be more introverted, and less “in the swirl.” MAN have I felt that.

    I totally agree with Jennifer’s comments on wanting to read full blog posts over snippets on Twitter etc. If I spent even half the amount of time reading interesting, thought-provoking articles on history/ people/ the world as I do reading statuses/ tweets, I’d be much more fulfilled mentally. Great great great post, awesome topic and something I’ll be giving a bit more thought in the New Year as I set up a structure that works for me! Thanks for sharing x

  5. 6 Rachael December 7, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    i hear ya! i have my social media networks that i love (for pretty much the same reasons as you mentioned), except there’s a few that i only half-heartedly actively ‘participate’ in (such as twitter, for me) because i just can’t keep up! i kinda just do the “have a quick read through the latest feed” every now and then to check in.

    i do recognise how some of these networks have become such amazing marketing/networking tools, and i really wish i had the time to keep up with them all. but hey, you do have to have a life away from the computer…. x

  6. 7 Sweet Lime and Spiced Tea December 7, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Definitely agree with the comments above – I’ve been trying to decide if I should sign up to Path too. Downloaded the app but haven’t been able to bring myself to sign up yet! For me it’s almost like a guilt thing – if I want to be ‘involved’ in social media then I should be up on the latest and greatest thing. I think the result for me is a much shorter attention span and kind of feeling a little bit panicked all the time – am I missing out on something? Better check twitter / facey / gmail / instagram / tumblr / blogger / google+. I think when you start catching yourself thinking in 140 characters it’s time to step away from the iPhone! Love your posts as always Sian.
    Cxx

  7. 8 Amy Potter December 8, 2011 at 7:04 am

    I so hear ya with this one! The internet is getting overwhelming. I think I’ve got everything I need, as well. I religiously use Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Gmail (+Reader), Dribbble, WordPress and Pinterest. It might seem like a long list, but I think I’ve basically worked out how to make each media outlet work for me. I use each as a means of organisation, communicating with and searching for things and people. The key is really understanding what each outlets purpose is, exploiting it’s features and honing in on what you want to accomplish with your time spent on it.

    I don’t think Path will really have anything new to bring to the table, like you say, the UI is gorgeous but in reality, I don’t think my lovely joe-bloggs non-designer friends on facebook will be making the switch any time soon. Similar issues to G+ I think.

    Great post! As usual šŸ™‚

    • 9 SianRicho December 9, 2011 at 8:59 am

      Yeah you got it, I think you just have to understand how to use each one for different purposes, and I think that’s what makes them work so well separately, rather than trying to bring them all into one app.
      You choose what you want to check, and when.
      Which I kind of like! Then you don’t just go to one place and get bombarded with info.

  8. 10 Tiera Kawaiola (@sideculture) December 8, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I’ve been going through similar thoughts recently, and I’m totally in overload. Everytime a friend signs up for a new thing, or I see something cool in the iTunes app store, I feel like I HAVE to get on board and be among the first with the latest and greatest. But over the last few days have been calling it quits with various social networks — and deleting their apps from my iPhone so I stay off, lol! I’ve had Path for awhile now, but hadn’t used it much, and thought about getting into it now that it’s so popular, but with all of this social media purging I’ve been doing recently, I decided against it. Twitter is kind of my main hub, and I decided to also stick with Foursquare and GetGlue. For now, at least, I’m trying to stay off the rest.

  9. 11 Katherine December 8, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Blog. Photo blog (tumblr – but original content only, no reblogs). Instagram. Facebook. Facebook PAGE. Twitter. Google Plus (but don’t use it much).

    I don’t know, it works for me. Everything is pretty integrated and each thing has something different on it. If you followed all of them you wouldn’t see all the same content. They’re all beneficial to me (aside from Google Plus but I think once it properly catches on it will be).

    But yeah, sometimes you don’t go on the internet for a day and then you realise you haven’t missed a thing and no one really cares! Haha.

  10. 12 Fajr December 9, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Google + when I can remember to update it. Honestly that is enough for me and I’ve even contemplated removing my Twitter app from my phone so I’m not tempted to be on it all day.

    Alas, I work in digital marketing so these tools are my day to day, but I’m advocate of unplugging and living life… offline.

  11. 13 Erica Sterling (@ericawebmaster) December 9, 2011 at 3:05 am

    I think Path is a cool app but I will NOT be downloading it to my phone. There is nothing on it that I can’t already do with FB, Twitter, or Foursquare, all of which I have on my phone. It does get to be too much and you can’t keep jumping on the bandwagon every time a new app comes out.
    I also agree that you do not need to share every facet of your life with the world. I am guilty of sharing too much of my life on line especially with foursquare. I became addicted with wanting to become the mayor of a location??? and I was sharing constantly every where I went. My fiance thought I was crazy with reporting our whereabouts..lol
    You have to choose your apps wisely! I have enough problems keeping my phone charged daily.

  12. 14 bookindian December 9, 2011 at 3:33 am

    . . . so right, things get too cluttered . . . I try and keep it simple with Twitter (@salvidali) and my main blog . . . other than that it’s text . . . Photos are a good way to fill the gaps . . .

  13. 15 Angela December 10, 2011 at 5:24 am

    Hi girl!
    I’ve to say that I completely agree with you in that. There was a time when there was only a few social websites but now there are millions!
    I had too much social media accounts (maybe more than 6, I can’t remember now) and I had to stop and prioritize. Now I have Flickr, Twitter, Tumblr (not very much used), Livejournal (for private posts with friends) and Blogger… and Facebook, but not very used either… Still I think I have too much.

  14. 16 absolutely Organic Girl December 14, 2011 at 1:59 am

    I think you have to stop when being online is an obligation, for example, when you go somewhere and in the moment you go inside you HAVE TO check in!

    I find horrible to be talking to someone who is all the time looking at his/her phone! it feels like that person doesn’t want to talk to you!

    • 17 SianRicho December 14, 2011 at 9:27 am

      Yep you’re totally right!
      I never really got onto the Foursquare craze, it seemed kind of weird to start with to me, ‘checking in’ to places, and trying to be the mayor? Haha.

      It’s the worst when you’re hanging out with someone and all they do is check their phone the whole time, I think it’s a little rude actually…

      Thanks for commenting! Interesting to see what everyone has to say about this topic… It seems to be on everyone’s minds at the moment.

  15. 18 Kimberley - Dream. Delight. Inspire. December 15, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Couldn’t agree more darling. Sometimes I am halfway through a tweet and I just power my phone off. Nobody needs to know that, I don’t need to share it.
    Why can’t we just be content with experiencing what we’re doing without telling the world about it? It’s an odd phenomenon and I haven’t quite figured out a way to conquer or balance it myself yet, but loved the post gorgeous. xx

    • 19 SianRicho December 21, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      Haha I do the same! I’m like wait, Sian, stop tweeting right now.
      I know exactly what you mean, it is an odd phenomenon, I’ve been thinking about it more and more after writing this post, and seeing what everyone has to say.

      I think it’s about finding a way of making it work for you, and choosing the app/outlet for the appropriate use.
      And mainly just remembering to unplug more and more, until you get the right balance.
      x

  16. 20 Krissy December 18, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Word. It’s complete social media overload out there these days. Funnily enough, being without a decent computer the last 2-3 months has really put things in perspective for me. You can’t let it control your life. Twitter is my one go to that I keep up with. I have pinterest and tumblr, but they’re mostly just for random bursts of procrastination. šŸ˜‰ I also think not having a smart phone has helped keep my social media life rather simplified. Though sometimes it drives me batty not having things right at my fingertips whenever I’d like, it’s also kind of nice to find that piece and quiet and to completely disconnect.

    • 21 SianRicho December 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      You got it sista!
      Being semi on holiday at the moment I love not having the need to be on my comp 24/7. It’s hard when your day to day job is literally being tied to a desk all day, so that distraction of the internet is like what, one or two clicks away? Wayy to easy sometimes.
      The only ones I’m paying much attention to at the moment are Twitter and Instagram… But mostly Instagram. The rest are taking a back seat for a while!

      Thanks for the comment! Love talking about these kinds of things.


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and Iā€™m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

