Magic Making | + My 3 Tips

Today was one of those magically awesome days. You know the ones, where everyone you come across has the biggest smile on their face, and are super excited about anything & everything, and you walk with that extra spring in your step.

This morning I woke up thinking ‘This day is gonna be rad!’, mostly because of two things. My last day of work for the year, (I’m going back to NZ on Sunday for a few weeks!), and we released the newest issue of 16HOURS. Two cool beans things, one day.

And everywhere I went, people were extra awesome. The woman at the sushi place where I got my lunch told me I looked nice today, then I was having a mega chat to a chick who was waiting for the ferry with me (we were also accompanied by about 5million tourists that were also going into the city), and she’d never been on a ferry in Sydney before, so she was WAY excited, and was asking me where it goes etc. And then I was hanging at Starbucks, working on magazine business, and the Starbucks dude says to me ‘You’re an Apple fan huh?’, which I probably looked like your classic Apple nerd, on the laptop + iPhone at the same time. Yet another cool person I was talking to. Same deal with the ferry people on the way home, super chatty.

Then I managed to find myself walking around the Village Bizzare Markets, (post to come, they’re RAD), and everyone was just SUPER smiley and having a rad time. It’s totally infectious when everyone you pass by seems to be having the time of their lives. I love it. I thrive off it. Especially in the city, it’s everywhere.

Then I made my way down to Circular Quay (I know, I practically live there), and the oh so massive Diamond Princess Cruise Ship was about to depart. Why not make a magical day even more magical? There’s something about watching cruise ships depart that I can’t go past. I used to do it all the time from our beach house in New Zealand, so I guess it’s a tradition of mine in a way. Waving to people you’ve never met, as they sail off into the seas, seeking the adventures we all strive for.

And for some reason, walking around the city at night makes it that much more magical. Maybe it’s the sexyness of the dark, the unknown, the mystery. Whatever it is, I’m in love.

So, here’s my 3 Tips for having a Magical Day.

1 // As soon as you wake up, tell yourself you’re going to have an awesome day. And then listen to your favorite party song. (Or just some Foster the People). Put it into your mind from the get go that it’s gonna be rockin, and you’ll be set.

2 // Dress up. Wear your good jewellery, wear that good perfume you never actually get to wear becuase you always save it for ‘those special ocassions’, wear that rockin blazer you know looks good with everything. If you feel good, other people will notice.

3 // Go out. This is a big one for me. I got so stuck in the daily grind of the 9-5, all I would do was get up, go to work, then go home. I barely ever explored. But whoa, has that changed now. So go out for lunch, go somewhere after work, take a stroll in the city, go to the movies… Whatever takes your fancy. Take your time getting home, see where the nights/days take you.

Onwards with the Magic Making friends.

21 Responses to “Magic Making | + My 3 Tips”


  1. 1 Michelle December 17, 2011 at 4:13 am

    I love those “magic” days where everything’s just right. Thank you for reminding me that a good day starts with me.

  2. 2 Krissy December 18, 2011 at 4:55 am

    I like this plan. More magic! Always!

    And dude, I know I say this every time, but your blog kills me (in the good way) and makes me miss Sydney soooo bad. Why are plane tickets so expensive?

  3. 3 Sweet Lime and Spiced Tea December 18, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Great tips Sian – I’m all for more magic šŸ™‚ & I’m going to institute them all tomorrow – will let you know how I go!
    jas xx

  4. 4 Kelli January 12, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Hi there all, here every person is sharing these familiarity, so it’s fastidious to read this weblog, and I used to visit this website every day.

  5. 5 best loan site February 15, 2013 at 2:44 am

    At this time it sounds like Movable Type is the top blogging platform available right
    now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  6. 6 best loans uk April 2, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your website.
    It appears as if some of the content within your posts are running off the screen.

    Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?

    This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Cheers

  7. 7 best buy loans April 8, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.

    It will always be exciting to read articles from
    other writers and use a little something from other web sites.

  8. 8 best Tenant loans April 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

    This is a topic which is close to my heart.

    .. Many thanks! Exactly where are your contact details though?

  9. 9 Eddie April 18, 2013 at 11:53 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite
    certain I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  10. 10 Bernie April 18, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  11. 11 best loan deal April 19, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Thanks for the info, that will be of value at some hour.

  12. 12 best loans uk April 23, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Amazing! Its genuinely amazing entry, I have got much clear idea about from this article.

  13. 13 best buy loans April 23, 2013 at 8:35 am

    May I just say what a comfort to discover someone that truly knows
    what they are discussing on the web. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to
    light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of
    your story. I was surprised that you are not more popular since you certainly possess
    the gift.

  14. 14 Jada April 24, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Now then, after reading this awesome editorial i am
    also delighted to share my know-how here with colleagues.

  15. 15 Erin April 26, 2013 at 11:51 am

    I pay a quick visit each day a few blogs and sites
    to read posts, except this website provides quality based writing.

  16. 16 unsecured loans May 7, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    I’m not trying to be a ballbreaker, but I think you can do better stuff than this. More content would be good.

  17. 17 Bob May 8, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  18. 18 best loans on the market May 17, 2013 at 5:13 am

    Last minute editorials are often the best, the content just
    flies out onto the screen.

  19. 19 fast online cash loans June 2, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Good short introduction, made me read all
    of the article. Mine always seem to waffle on, yours is really
    punchy.

  20. 20 best Loans on the market June 5, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    I’m trying to create a similar place to this myself, there’s clearly a lot of work that goes into it.
    Really lively community as well, which is not easy to develop.

  21. 21 best bank loan June 9, 2013 at 7:03 am

    I’m not meaning to be a pain, but I just think you can write better content than this. More content would be a start.


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and Iā€™m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

