Seek Those Who Share Your Passion

I’ve been thinking about the term ‘New Years Resolutions’ lately, as everyone is amping up for what is shaping out to be a pretty stellar year, as they write out their goals and dreams for the future.

I’m not sure calling them New Years Resolutions is the way to go, at least not for me anyway.Ā  It’s sounds old school, and just the thought of that term doesn’t appeal to me.

Rach wrote a stellar post about her Words to live by for 2012, and I propose you do the same! Along with my words to live by, I’ll also have a bit of a vision board, and some more in-depth goals and dreams. No, not ‘resolutions’. Not things that have to be accomplished this year, but sometime in the future, things I can work towards.

I think keeping it as simple as possible is the way to go. Choose a few basic words to start off with, (my three are above!) and work off them. The best way I found to do it was start with a whole page of random words that popped into my head, and then narrowed them down to three. Then from here, I’m working on my bigger dreams and things I want to accomplish.

The main one that stuck out to me from my list was SEEK. This applies to so many things for me. Seeking fellow creatives and big dreamers, seeking new work and new friends, seeking adventure. I’m seeking a lot of things this year!

I’m working on a few projects at the moment which involve collaborations, and a month or two ago, the quote/saying below randomly came to me, and I cannot urge you enough to DO IT! The things that have come my way since I started connecting and collaborating with other creatives is crazy. It really is what it’s all about for me. Seek, connect, create.

Secondly was SHINE. Time to do what I want, and what I love doing. When we engage in work we are passionate about, we shine, we gleam. And others notice.

Last but not least, VENTURE. Be daring, take risks. What’s fun about living inside the lines that other people tell us we have to stick to? NOTHING! Taking risks, and learning from them, wherever they happen to lead us.

Here’s a few posts by some fellow bloggers about their goals for 2012, check em out!

C’est Christine // What I’m Going To Do More Of In 2012

SRSLYLIZ // Seeker

Love Life // Be Fierce

Have you got your words or goals set out for the year ahead? Do share!

4 Responses to “Seek Those Who Share Your Passion”


  1. 1 Christine January 5, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Love your word choice! I saw the post on Rachel’s blog, and I’m totally trying to think of three words to sum up my year (mostly so that I have an intention in yoga class!) but I am such a sucker for traditional new year’s resolutions. 2012 is going to be awesome!

  2. 2 Liz January 6, 2012 at 3:53 am

    Loved this. Obviously we are on the same page when it comes to seeking out our passions this year. Cheers to us! And thanks for the mention šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Kelly January 13, 2012 at 4:59 am

    I love your blog so much, it really inspires me on the daily! And I feel the same way about resolutions as well! And your three words really resonate with the things I am hoping to accomplish in 2012. šŸ™‚

    • 4 SianRicho January 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

      Thanks so much Kelly! I think everyone is super pumped for this year, it’s shaping up to be pretty stellar already, can’t wait to see what else it’s got in store for us!
      x


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and Iā€™m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

