On Getting Amongst It

It’s been a while since I’ve ‘written’ an actual post, so here we go!

Lately I’ve been getting amongst everything that’s been coming at me. Work wise, and life wise. Fingers are in as many pies as possible. Hence my lack of blogging. I said that 2012 was going to be the year of Seeking Those Who Share My Passions, and well, that seems to be going pretty well!

Almost everyone I talk to seems to be ‘overwhelmed’ with what the year has brought them so far, and they are going a little nuts with all this crazyness that’s in the air.

What I’ve learnt lately is that you need to learn to balance it out. Take chances, say yes to things, but only the things that feel right. And if you ain’t feelin something, just say no! Chances are, when you say no, bigger and better things will magically float into your life anyway.

I might be about to contradict myself, but I’m here to tell you that there are times when you should ‘Just Do It’ too. I’m referring to getting amongst it, life-wise, not work-wise. There’s going to be times when you don’t feel like going out for dinner, or going to that meet up by yourself, and you’re thinking of just staying home and watching True Blood or whatever.. Well, sometimes you have to MAKE yourself get out there.

How is the Universe meant to bring amazing people and amazing things into your life if you just sit on your arse and blob/work like a slave for 90% of the week?

*Que ah-ha moment.Well, it’s not! The chances of someone/something amazing literally showing up on your doorstep are pretty slim, which is all the more reason to go out. Experience life. Just go for a drink at a cafe. Jump on a train just for the hell of it. Meet up with one of your Twitter pals in real life.

Put yourself out there.

I’m speaking from experience here, as like many of my blog posts. Lastnight I had the insane chance to meet the one and only Jessica Hische, right here in Sydney. And who could turn down a chance like that, right? So off I went! And I met her, and a whole bunch of other rad creative kids.

It was one of those awesome times when you realise, ‘Fuck yes, I love what I do.’ A huge group of crazy creatives from all walks of life, having yarns about anything design related.

This wasn’t the only thing I’ve done lately where I’ve had this realisation, but it just added to the awesome scale even more. I’ve had a huge stack of freelance clients + just awesome people in general come my way, which makes it that much more exciting.

So to my fellow creatives & interweb friends alike, I ask that you get amongst it. Choose to get amongst life.

You never know who you might meet or where it might take you…

*And yeah, I’m retarded, I didn’t get a photo with Jessica. But I promise you, I met her, and she was super friendly + awesome.

Do any of you know what I’m talking about, or had any super awesome experiences you can share?

5 Responses to “On Getting Amongst It”


  1. 1 Kimberley - Dream. Delight. Inspire. February 14, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    YES! Yes times a million. I have been having the same surge of amazing people and opportunities and am embracing those that fit with what I love and believe in. It’s been WICKED. So glad it’s loitering around your world too. šŸ™‚
    PS: I also love that you use the term ‘getting amongst it’ – so much win. xx

  2. 2 Alison Owen February 14, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    Totally agree! You’ve got to put yourself out there!! šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Kelly February 14, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    yes I totally agree!! I have been putting myself out there too, going out to networking events alone, and just introducing myself to other creative like-minded people and its opened up so many opportunities already!! šŸ™‚ I guess our years are going pretty well already!

  4. 4 Christine February 15, 2012 at 1:38 am

    Yes yes yes! Can be hard sometimes, but usually totally pays off–have to put good stuff out there to get it back!

  5. 5 vienda maria February 15, 2012 at 9:14 am

    YES!!! Need I say more!? šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Hey! I'm Sian, and Iā€™m a free-spirited creative wizard. I have a passion for working with people who are on a mission to live their dream lives, and are electrified by the unknown beauty that the future holds. Twelve by One is my place to share awesome finds + write about this amazing world we're living in. Read more here!

Categories

*All photos are my own unless otherwise stated. Please credit me if you're going to post them anywhere. Thanks yo!

